In vitro diagnostic medical device

"In vitro diagnostic medical device" means any medical device which is a reagent, reagent product, calibrator, control material, kit, instrument, apparatus, equipment, or system, whether used alone or in combination, intended by the manufacturer to be used in vitro for the examination of specimens, including blood and tissue donations, derived from the human body, solely or principally for the purpose of providing information:


- concerning a physiological or pathological state, or
- concerning a congenital abnormality, or
- to determine the safety and compatibility with potential recipients, or
- to monitor therapeutic measures.


Specimen receptacles are considered to be in vitro diagnostic medical devices. "Specimen receptacles" are those devices, whether vacuum-type or not, specifically intended by their manufacturers for the primary containment and preservation of specimens derived from the human body for the purpose of in vitro diagnostic examination.


Products for general laboratory use are not in vitro diagnostic medical devices unless such products, in view of their characteristics, are specifically intended by their manufacturer to be used for in vitro diagnostic examination.

In-vitro-Diagnostikum

Ein "In-vitro-Diagnostikum" ist jedes Medizinprodukt, das als Reagenz, Reagenzprodukt, Kalibriermaterial, Kontrollmaterial, Kit, Instrument, Apparat, Gerät oder System - einzeln oder in Verbindung miteinander - nach der vom Hersteller festgelegten Zweckbestimmung zur In-vitro-Untersuchung von aus dem menschlichen Körper stammenden Proben, einschließlich Blut- und Gewebespenden, verwendet wird und ausschließlich oder hauptsächlich dazu dient, Informationen zu liefern


- über physiologische oder pathologische Zustände oder
- über angeborene Anomalien oder
- zur Prüfung auf Unbedenklichkeit und Verträglichkeit bei den potentiellen Empfängern oder
- zur Überwachung therapeutischer Maßnahmen.


Probenbehältnisse gelten als In-vitro-Diagnostika. Probenbehältnisse sind luftleere wie auch sonstige Medizinprodukte, die von ihrem Hersteller speziell dafür gefertigt werden, aus dem menschlichen Körper stammende Proben unmittelbar nach ihrer Entnahme aufzunehmen und im Hinblick auf eine In-vitro-Diagnose aufzubewahren.


Erzeugnisse für den allgemeinen Laborbedarf gelten nicht als In-Vitro-Diagnostika, es sei denn, sie sind aufgrund ihrer Merkmale nach ihrer vom Hersteller festgelegten Zweckbestimmung speziell für In-vitro-Untersuchungen zu verwenden.